ESP32 and DS3231 RTC alarms

Hallo all,

First of all: I am a noob. Ican do quite lot, but some things are beyond me. (Reason for subscribing to this site.)

I am currently working with ESP32. I want to replace my Arduino Mega with an ESP32, doing the same work the Arduino is doing now.

The Arduino measures my Elec. Power and Gas consumption and posts this in MySQL every 5th minute. Data sent is: avg-W, hourly Wh, daily kWh, avg-dm3, hourly dm3 and daily m3. Measurements are reset at midnight. For this purpose I have a DS3231 attached to the Arduino.

I can get the ESP32 working with DS3231, time/date-wise. But I can not set 'alarms' for resetting. Because I have now clue how to set alarms, in combination with ESP32. (I can with Arduino.)

When I use the Arduino-script, I get all sort of fault-reports. It seems like that the libraries I use are not compatible with ESP32.(And I have used/downloaded a lot diverent ones.)

The only DS3231 librarie which seems to work is RTClib.h, but I have no clue how to set the alartms. I have Googled a lot, but no succes.

Can one of you experts help?

With best regards,

Leo

Hi Leo, what do you mean by setting an alarm? Are you trying to display something on the screen when alarm time is equal to current time or do someting with hardware. /Also have you considered the idea that you will not be needing an RTC module with ESP32 as long as your board is connected to the internet. You can directly get the time from the internet 

Joined August 16, 2016      998
Tuesday at 12:29 AM

The idea is to to take sensor measurements and send these at specifics times to my Synology-NAS which has MySQL (for Data) and Domoticz (for graphics).

For me an alarm is a point in time where something has to be done

I will give you little more background of current system using Arduino Mega - Ethernetshield, Light-sensor, IR-transmitter-receiver-sensor and DS3231 RTC.